Main Content

Project Archive

Deo Gloria Book Awards

Winner of the 1990 Deo Gloria Book AwardIn 1990 Deo Gloria initiated a new book award to encourage popular adult fiction written from a positive Christian standpoint. The award was administered by the Book Trust with whom Deo Gloria partnered for this project. The panel of judges for the period of the award included Nigel Forde, Mary Batchelor, Prabhu Guptara, Murray Watts, Martin Wroe, and Stephen Hayes.

The winners of the award were,

1990 – Old Photographs – Elizabeth Gibson (Lion Publishing)
1991 – Cloudstreet – Tim Winton (Picador)
1992 – The Children of Men – P D James (Faber and Faber)

The award ran for three years and was suspended in 1993.

Lonesome Stone

Lonesome Stone

Lonesome Stone was a rock musical about a group of young people living on the west coast of America in 1967 as part of the 'hippy movement'. The story tells of how these people lived and shared their lives together and their search for meaning, purpose and the truth. They eventually discover the way, the truth and the life in Jesus Christ.

The cast were made up of people who had experienced the events they were portraying – not trained actors or professionals and they lived in the communal style. Each performance featured the musical backing of the rock band 'The Sheep'. None of the cast was salaried or received income from the production.

Lonesome Stone toured the UK in 1973, including performances in London's West End. It went on to tour in America and in Germany. The Deo Gloria Trust sponsored the Lonesome Stone project and encouraged churches in the UK to work together with the production.

Lonesome Stone Crew

Lonesome Stone Bus
Deo Gloria Trust, c/o 12 Kingsey Avenue, Emsworth, Hampshire, PO10 7HP.
Registered UK Charity No. 243305